Over at ACA…Learning life lessons from my clients

Eckhardt Headshot CroppedI’m now in my second full week of Life Without Internship. I’m pretty well caught up on sleep, I’ve got job applications in the mail, and dinner time isn’t quite so harried. (One lingering effect: I keep thinking I have a group to lead at 3 p.m. on Sundays.)

All this time has meant that I’ve been able to step back and think about what the heck just happened. And it was a lot! Obviously, I learned so much about the daily life of being a counselor, and about how to take care of myself. I also learned quite a bit from my clients themselves. They don’t often credit themselves, but they’re amazing people and have survived some intense stuff. Not everyone would have made it as far as they have.

Organizational snares and all, I’m grateful for my internship experience. Read more about life lessons from my clients at the ACA’s blog.

2 thoughts on “Over at ACA…Learning life lessons from my clients

  1. Great post! I enjoyed reading about your experience. We’re a year apart in our trajectories (although I believe you have two master’s degrees, right? So that would make it more than a year), so it’s really cool for me to read about what’s going on for you right now. It provides me with a working model of what my time after internship and graduation (yikes!) might look like.

    • Thank you! I’m glad you could find it helpful. As you finish school, you might have some added benefits that I didn’t, such as not moving to a completely different state for your internship, or having the possibility of being hired by your internship site. (Not anyone’s fault, they just don’t have room/funding for an extra counselor.) The biggest worry I had about finishing was losing momentum on my career–but that hasn’t happened at all. Definitely email or write me here if you have any questions as you finish your program, and good luck if you’re in summer classes!

Leave a Reply

