The first day of the rest of our lives

I woke up on Monday morning and realized that it really was the first day of the rest of my life. I’m fully aware of how melodramatic that sounds, but hear me out. As of this Monday, I will never work a full week at my current job again. I have class 4 times a week, and once the summer semester finishes, we say good-bye to Nebraska and hello to Louisiana and whatever lies in the future for us there.

The week hit HARD, too. I’m a little overwhelmed, trying to get my bearings in my Practicum class by finding suitable clients. We’re also in the first week of showing our house, which means getting kicked out by our realtor at key times, like 6 p.m. when we’d really like to take a nap or eat dinner. Louie and I can only go to Starbucks so many times, finally giving up the other night and parking our cars at the park until everyone left the house. We looked like real creepers.

I know Louie is overwhelmed right now, too, and so I’d like to dedicate this post to him and how much he’s been helping to make sure everything goes smoothly for both of us. He’s been working (same place as me, how cute!!), practicing up for fall semester, and taking care of all the little things at home that I can’t. He’s also been really optimistic about the future, which helps immensely.

I was going to upload a beautiful, thankful picture of Louie, but this was the only photo of him on my phone:

Thank you, city snowplows!

In my defense, I tend to only take photos of a) my pets and b) things I eat. I think his camera is full of much the same. Also, I was very thankful to him for removing the giant snow meteor left by our city.

Oh hey, this is better:

Well, kind of. We’re incapable of good pictures.

Love you, honey! Let’s show June and July how it’s done, and here’s to a bright “rest of our lives”!

2 thoughts on “The first day of the rest of our lives

Leave a Reply

