Hello, 2013!

2013 SparklersHAPPY NEW YEAR! I’ve really come to love the new year, because it’s chance for a fresh start–even if the last year was good. Louie and I had quite a 2012, but in the end, we have absolutely nothing to complain about. Louie left his band program in Grand Island in much better shape than he received it, finished his first semester of doctoral school, won an orchestra gig, and was generally a pretty good support as we transitioned from life in Nebraska to life in Louisiana. I got an AMAZING job, finished my first semester of internship, started this blog, got published, started freelancing a bit, and am trying to be as good a support to Louie. Thank you for everyone that helped us get to this point–we appreciate it!

So on to 2013. I’m excited! On May 5, I plan to graduate from UNK with my master’s in counseling. After that…? But whatever happens, it will be challenging and fun and worth it. Here are my resolutions for 2013. I like to write them down so I can hold myself accountable 🙂

1. Graduate

This sounds like a big DUH, but my internship has been tough, especially in getting enough hours. I’m still nervous that I won’t finish in time, but I will do whatever it takes. I’ve never explained it on my blog before, but UNK is going through a program transition and this is the last semester for the old program. If I don’t graduate by May, I’ll have to take additional credits, which could be very difficult here in Louisiana. Luckily, many of my peers face the same thing and our professors have been very proactive in keeping us on track. Thank you, counseling department!

2. Pass the National Counselor Exam with flying colors

Again, a big DUH, but…yuck. I don’t want to take it more than once! And I don’t want to barely pass, either. Step #1: Order a study guide and make a plan. Will do this weekend!

3. Blog more often

Due to the tough internship experience (and working full time on top of that), my writing energies have mostly focused on writing for Family Resources of Greater Nebraska and for the ACA My Counseling Blog. Sorry for the quasi-hiatus. I’ve missed you! These two obligations pretty much sapped any extra energy I had after internship. I now have a much better sense of what I can and cannot say about my internship here on my blog, and frankly, I miss writing. Time to do more–check back here at least once a week!

4. Make time for crafty things

At least once a week, I plan to spend an hour doing something creative–not cooking, not writing, not organizing the house. Just crafting. My grandmom taught me how to crochet this weekend, and I have a small backlog of sewing projects in my closet and pins on Pinterest. So much of my work involves my head and heart but not my hands, so it’s nice to do something tangible for a bit.

That’s it! What are your 2013 resolutions? Check back later this week for a Family Resources column on tips for making and keeping your resolutions!

Photo credit.

2 thoughts on “Hello, 2013!

  1. Pingback: Family Resources e-Newsletter: Get 2013 off to a great start! « Feet in Two Worlds

  2. Pingback: Counselor self-care: Rippling positive energy into your organization « Feet in Two Worlds

Leave a Reply

