This month in the Family Resources e-Newsletter: Happy (late) Valentine’s Day!

I mean, how can you hate a holiday centered around treats?

I mean, how can you hate a holiday centered around treats?

Shhhhh, I have a secret! I don’t hate Valentine’s Day! I also don’t quite get why everyone makes such a point of hating it. Even in my single days, I didn’t really hate it. Here’s why: It features some of my favorite colors (pink and purple), is kind of silly, involves lots of sweets, and doing nice things for other people. And it helps to break up the gray block that is February!

Sure, some of Valentine’s Day is overwrought, but I guess I never understood why we don’t all simply focus on obtaining a decent sugar high and making a point to show everyone some love instead of yelling about greeting card companies and then sulking in our rooms. This year, Louie and I couldn’t celebrate together, so I threw a little party for my internship residents. It ended up being the perfect Valentine’s Day!

Anyhow, the whole point of this post (and the point of my column) is to say that Valentine’s Day is just one day to share love with everyone–what about the other 364 days? Read on for more ideas on how to make the world a more love-ly (ha!) place all year long.

Leave a Reply

